Municipal water company AMJASA renews its board of directors

The local government tripartite provides seven representatives on the nine-seat board.

Monday 7th August 2023
Mike Smith

The municipal water company AMJASA has renewed its board of directors during its general meeting this afternoon, a management body of nine directors, a third of which are members of the local government.

The renewal was approved with the votes of the tripartite local government (PP / CpJ / Vox). Carme Català (Compromís) abstained whilst the representatives of PSOE-PSPV voted against.

The new board of directors consists of the following representatives:

  • PP · Rosa Cardona, Fátima Jarjor, Raúl de Lope and Carolina Chao.
  • CpJ · César Rodríguez.
  • Vox · José Marcos Pons and Juan Moragues.
  • PSOE-PSPV · Javier Bonet.
  • Compromís · Vicent Chorro.

The new directors have accepted the assignment and will start working on this new stage of the public company.

Mayoress Rosa Cardona said that “we are now concerned that AMJASA works well and that the directors have internalized the organization’s objectives, both economic and those related to social and environmental improvement“.

The mayoress added that the board has great challenges ahead, including the provision of drinking water, the sewage system and the renewal of the desalination plant concession.

Last week, when the composition of the board was announced, the PSOE-PSPV complained that it wasn’t representative of the composition of the local council; the socialists were given just one seat on the board despite having nine councillors whilst Vox, with just a single councillor, was handed two seats. Thus, they voted against the motion.