Six parties present their candidates for election on May 28th

Each party has presented 21 hopefuls for election to the local council for the next four years.

Saturday 29th April 2023
Mike Smith

With the publication in the Official State Gazette of all the electoral lists that will be standing in the next electoral elections on May 28, these are the candidate lists of the six political parties which will be seeking your support to govern the council during the next legislature and occupy the place of the 21 councillors.


  1. José Chulvi Español  
  2. Kika Mata Sapena
  3. Alberto Tur Buigues
  4. Isabel Moreno Hernández
  5. Ximo Segarra Fornés
  6. Rosana Sapena Codina
  7. Sergio Camarasa Hernández
  8. Rita Berruti Fuentes
  9. Josep Vicent Miralles
  10. Montse Villaverde Retamero
  11. Olga Sales Serrano
  12. Doris Courcelles
  13. Rafa Bisquert Crespo
  14. Marco Lee Perry Bucher
  15. Loreto Bolufer Berenguer
  16. Pepa Ferrero Tomás
  17. Chus Pobes Serrano
  18. Pilar González Pérez
  19. José Luis Luengo Medina
  20. Toni Miragall Espasa
  21. Isabel Bolufer Castelló


  1. Rosa Vicenta Cardona Vives
  2. Enrique José Escriva Terán
  3. Teresa Soledad Legay Fornes
  4. Pere Joan Sapena Segarra
  5. Fatima Jarjor Soler
  6. Antonio Molina Canet
  7. Juan Luis Cardona Salvador
  8. Juan José García Pastor
  9. Raquel Violero Castellanos
  10. María Rosa Torres Cholbi
  11. José Antonio Buigues Llidó
  12. Victor Gonzalo Parra Aguilar
  13. Daniela Buche Simon
  14. Elena Victoria Gwyn-Jones Watmough
  15. Carolina Chao Fuster
  16. José Juan Peñalver Fuster
  17. Antonio Candamo León
  18. Julian Meneses Sapena
  19. Rosa María Perez Ortuño
  20. Isabel Nadal Torres
  21. Oscar Rubén Anton Izquierdo

Ciudadanos por Jávea (CPJ)

  1. Mavi Pérez
  2. Juan Ortolá
  3. César Rodríguez
  4. Mari Ángeles Caballero
  5. David Cordero
  6. Esther Tormos
  7. Claudia Fornés
  8. Abel Moll
  9. José Prada
  10. Susana Ern
  11. Rubén Ortolá
  12. María Serrat
  13. Alex Urrego
  14. Carmen Rivas
  15. Andrés Martínez
  16. Guillermo Bolufer
  17. Adriana Jiménez
  18. J. Francisco Garrido
  19. Gema Piedehierro
  20. Sisco Vallés
  21. Josefa Martí

Compromís per Xàbia

  1. Carme Català Caturla
  2. Amadeu Ros i Torres
  3. Josep Sapena Segarra
  4. Rebeca Mahaffey Bultitude
  5. Carmen Tramoyeres
  6. Vicent Raimón Chorro Cabrera
  7. Rosa María Puig Mulet
  8. Francesc Reus Boyd-Swan
  9. Olimpia Bas Costa
  10. Javier Gregorio Ramiro
  11. Isabel Català Arbona
  12. Francesc Català Cholbi
  13. Quica Gil Puigcerver
  14. Ferran Soler Sanchis
  15. Júlia Català Caturla
  16. Bertomeu Bas Cabrera
  17. Pepa Chorro Monserrat
  18. Felip Antonio Buigues Segarra
  19. Consol Ferrer Ferrer
  20. Gabriel Castell Cruañes
  21. Pere Cruanyes Pons

Podem Xàbia

  1. Juan Antonio López
  2. Vicena Cruañnes
  3. Bernhard Feiner
  4. Angelika Neizke
  5. Pepe Miralles
  6. María León
  7. Alejandro Aguilar
  8. Berta García
  9. Josep Lluís Aviñó
  10. María Dolores Solís
  11. Ángel Hernández
  12. María Dolores Sánchez
  13. Luis Cerdá
  14. Nina Mary Davis
  15. Julio Vasquez
  16. Mónica Borlando
  17. Goran Nikolic
  18. Mª Teresa Parra
  19. Josep Palomares
  20. Lúcia Aviñó
  21. Óscar Rosa


  1. José Marcos Pons Devesa
  2. Cristobal Vicente Cholbi Bas
  3. María José Martínez López
  4. Pablo Puig Gandolfo
  5. Esther García Fernández
  6. Alejandro Soriano Sanchís
  7. María Bustos Martínez
  8. Daniel Christian Bas English
  9. María Dolores Biosca García
  10. Clara Menguel Ivars
  11. Juan Antonio García Barragan
  12. Elena Ronda Molines
  13. Agustin Simon Fornes
  14. Rafael Bisquert Gonzalez
  15. Joaquina Rosello Riera
  16. Javier Llorente García
  17. Erika Reus Galindo
  18. Marcos Gavila Ortolá
  19. Eric Antoine Pierre Tom Laurent
  20. Paula Rodríguez Martínez
  21. José Ramón Moragues Benlloch

How voting works in municipal elections.

Municipal elections in Spain take place on the Fourth Sunday of May every four years. All residents aged 18 and over who are formally registered as residents with the municipality are eligible to vote, including resident non-national European citizens and those who are citizens of countries with have a reciprocal agreement with Spain, such as the United Kingdom.

Councillors are elected by party-list proportional representation in that the vote is cast for the party as a whole rather than an individual. Each party will have determined who will sit on the council prior to the elections so that the candidates positioned highest on the list tend to get a seat of the council whilst those listed further down will not. The person listed as number 1 is normally the party’s candidate for mayor.

The number of councillors allocated to sit on the municipal council is determined by the size of the population. Xàbia’s registered population is 28,731 which means that it falls into the category 20,001-50,000 which allocates 21 councillors. Thus, each political party presents a candidate list of 21 hopefuls, although only a bizarre and unlikely landslide would see one party take all 21 seats.

The number of seats is allocated using the D’Hondt Method in which the total votes cast for each party determines how many seats the party wins on the council. A party has to attract at least 5% of the vote.

In May 2019, when a total of 8,647 people cast their vote, some 55% of the electorate, the seats were distributed as follows:

  • PSOE (3,873 votes, 45.32%) – 11 seats and absolute majority
  • PP (1,832 votes, 21.44%) – 5 seats
  • CPJ (995 votes, 11.64%) – 2 seats
  • Compromís (827 votes, 9.68%) – 2 seats
  • Cs (564 votes, 6.6%) 1 seat
  • Podemos (407 votes, 4.75%) no seats.